The Field Marshal

Olympic Fever

Posted in Musings by fieldmarshal on August 14, 2008

The 2008 Beijing Olmpic Games euphoria have swept through the corridors of my home. Since the opening ceremony last Friday, there’s not a single day when the telly has switched over to Starhub channels 601-605 to snatch a glimpse of ongoing events.

My wife and I are now new converts to the sport of beach volleyball. Our interest were piqued when we watched the women’s match between China and errr… another team. The sheer skill and athletism of the atheles got us gripped.

I don’t deny that the bikini clad players were eye candy. But seriously, I was more impressed by their skills than the amount of flesh revealed. To prove the point, I enjoy watching the men’s games more as it was played out at a faster, if not more punishing pace.

Interestingly, both my wife and I are thinking of picking up some sports after watching the games. Like the Olympic flame, we really need to keep this newfound passion for sport before our sedentary routine kicks in again when the games end.

Hmmm beach volleyball anyone. Hehe…

Tagged with: ,